Electoral Board Meeting Minutes January 6, 2021

The Electoral Board of Arlington County met at 3:00 p.m. on January 6, 2021 virtually due to the ongoing pandemic. The meeting was called to order by Matthew Weinstein, Vice Chairman, and present were Scott McGeary, Secretary, Kimberly Phillip, newly appointed Electoral Board member, Gretchen Reinemeyer, Director of Elections, and Eric Olsen, Deputy Director of Elections.

Matthew Weinstein called the meeting to order and offered comments welcoming Kimberly Phillip to the Electoral Board. He also shared comments recognizing outgoing Electoral Board member Charlene Bickford.

The Board next elected offices for the next year. Scott McGeary moved that Matthew Weinstein should be Chairman and Kimberly Phillip Vice Chairman. Matthew seconded the motion. Matthew motioned that Scott be elected Secretary. Kimberly seconded.

Next, the Board discussed the possible timeline of events in 2021. Gretchen Reinemeyer noted that the U.S. Census had not met their deadline to deliver data to Congress. This means that Virginia would be unlikely to complete its redistricting process in 2021. Scott noted that it is likely that the House of Delegates will be elected under their current districts this year, under their new districts in 2022, and again in 2023. This was done after delays to the 1980 census.

Gretchen next updated that Board that the ranked-choice voting conversation would likely be in February.

There being no additional business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 3:19 p.m.

Matt Wenstein

Matthew Weinstein, Chairman

Kimberly Phillip, Vice Chairman

W. Scott McGeary, Secretary